your song today: Country Boy – John Denver

I have an absolutely rock-solid relationship with this song. It will always be evergreen in my life. My dad has always been a Denver fan, so I kind of grew up with it, but as I was completely opposed to country music when I was growing up (and made a complete 360 during my uni years – country is now one of my favourite genres), I never paid much attention to it. But when I was in high school I just loved the crazy movie Son In Law, I could laugh like a banshee at Pauly Shore, and the scene where John Denver plays made this song an instant legend in my life. So much so, that I wrote my entire Honours thesis (on Aerosmith no less) with Country Boy looping at full blast (needless to say I wrote like a banshee, finishing the dissertation off in record time with a distinction to boot – never underestimate the power of a good song!)

So I’ll leave you with super happy, upbeat and innocently great song for a wonderful weekend.

Enjoy!

Thanks to Eagle Rock Videos for the live version.

Set Sail